Philippines Launches 1-Piso Commemorative Circulation Coin for the Chairmanship of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) in 2017

The 1-piso ASEAN 2017 commemorative coin was officially unveiled by President Rodrigo Roa Duterte and Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) Governor Amando M. Tetangco, Jr. during the launch of the Philippines’ ASEAN 2017 Chairmanship on 15 January 2017 in Davao City.

The obverse side of the coin bears the various elements of the logo of the Philippines’ chairship of ASEAN in 2017. It includes ten stars representing the ten member states with their names engraved in micro text on the right side. On the edge is the theme “Partnering for Change, Engaging the World”. The ASEAN emblem is at the center with the images of the sun and dove symbolizing prosperity and peace; while the Filipino ancient alphabet baybayin mintmark of the BSP Mint appears at the bottom.

The reverse side depicts the relief of our national hero Jose Rizal’s monument, the Filipino symbol of courage and patriotism. The seal of the BSP appears on the right side with the micro text “ASEAN 2017” filling the background. The markings “REPUBLIKA NG PILIPINAS” are engraved on the upper right. The coin’s denomination appears in the lower side of the coin and below it is the list of the ASEAN member states.

The issuance of the coin aims to memorialize the Philippines’ chairmanship of ASEAN in 2017. Additionally, the coins, being legal tender, can easily reach the public and promote greater awareness of the ASEAN cooperation. The BSP will produce 10 million pieces of the commemorative coin for general circulation in 2017.

Source: Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP)